Best Reads of 2015

(NOTE: Not all of these books were published in 2015; this is merely pulled from the list of books I read this year.)

2015 has finally come to a close! And it’s good riddance, from my perspective. That being said, 2015 was a time for some particularly good reads. Below are my top books from this trip around the sun, and what earned each of them a spot on my list.

18006496

Title: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: September 1st, 2015

Rating: 5 out of 5

If you know me, you know that I’m a huge fan of the Throne of Glass series. As this is book number four in the series, things are finally coming to a head in an exciting way. There were many riveting action scenes, a deeper discovery of the characters, and DID I MENTION ACTION HELL YEAH SIGN ME UP. And y’know what, I’m not even going to apologize for that outburst, because good lord, does QoS ever deserve it!

31-oDaA7eRL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: Milk and Honey

Author: Rupi Kaur

Release Date: November 4th, 2014

Rating: 5 out of 5

This book is a departure from the norm for me because I typically don’t read many poetry books. But like the hipster scum I am, I’m already familiar with Kaur’s work and decided it was worth the $10.77 leap of faith. It was. Milk and Honey contains heartrendingly beautiful poetry unlike anything I’ve ever read before. Reading it is a truly unique experience, (if sometimes the theme is a little repetitive), and even has the occasional illustration!

51BD6ankIqL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: The Oresteia

Author: Aeschylus

Release Date: 458 BCE

Rating: 5 out of 5

A true classic. As in, a classic that way out-dates even the classics. (Just look at that publication date!) The Oresteia does what many stories even to this day fail to do: provide a cohesive tale of love, betrayal, covert assassination plots, ancient (…child…) sacrifices, and a story of homecomings after war. What more could you want?

 

Seraphina_book_cover_(US_addition)

Title: Seraphina

Author: Rachel Hartman

Release Date: July 10th, 2012

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Seraphina is one of the best fantasy books I’ve ever read, hands down. (You can even find my review of it here.) The writing is rich and immaculate. The world-building is almost (dare I say) on par with that of Harry Potter. The characters are varied and dynamic and catch you off guard if you don’t keep an eye on them. The pace was pitch perfect. If you haven’t read this book yet, get your life together and read it NOW.

——–

Stay tuned to catch my 2015 Bad Book Compilation, likely coming out next week!

What books did you read in 2015 that stood out the most? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “Best Reads of 2015

Leave a Reply

