Writing Update: October 2014

Whew! It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, so I’m long overdue.

no-angels-writing-update-banner

After many months of work, I have FINALLY completed the final rewrite for No Angels! Currently the only task I have left is formatting, so No Angels should be back on digital shelves shortly! I have a big surprise planned for its release, but you’ll just have to wait and see what that’s all about. ;)

Also, I’m glazing over Collapsed Cathedrals as well. I’d read some of it this past summer and noticed two typos, and am now freaking about there being more in the book. Ack. I’m already 25% of the way through, so I estimate I’ll be done reading it by the end of the week.

I’m over two thirds of the way through editing The Final Advent. To be honest, I’d put it on the back burner since I was trying to get No Angels’ edits done, but now that that’s over The Final Advent will go back to being project number one. I’d hit a few rough patches earlier on with the editing, but with the kinks slowly but surely getting ironed out, I’m optimistic things will continue at this faster pace.

short-fiction-wgib-writing-update-banner

In regards to The Stolen Sun, I’ve mostly just been querying it. (Plus, I’ve gotten two, two personal rejections! I feel weirdly accomplished to say that, ha ha.) However, due to the fact most places don’t want you to submit simultaneously in addition to taking forever to get back to you, I haven’t been able to query that much. Just five places. Oh well. Such is the game!

Where Gold is Born was picked up for publication in early spring, and the journal it’s being published in will be released in the next few weeks! So exciting! Also, I’m thinking about submitting it to other magazines as well as a reprint. The more credits you can get, the better, right?

the-cradle-writing-update-banner

The Cradle has taken a major back seat lately. What with all of the No Angels and The Final Advent edits, I haven’t had much time to do research for it, refine the plot outline, etc. Plus, I just feel like there’s something inherently wrong with the plot outline. (That’s one of the benefits of outlining, kids. You can see if something is broke before you have to spend 500 hours of editing in an attempt to fix it.) Either way, I’m bouncing some ideas around for a more tangible goal to give my protagonist. Something that’ll hopefully give me a more climactic conclusion.

the-immortal-banner

The Immortal, however? I worked on this one far more than justifiable. (I’ve forced myself to stop right now for the aforementioned edits, but it had to be done.) I’ve done character outlines, fleshed out the plot further, and done mountains of research. Plus I’ve written bits here and there. I know, shame on me, but I just can’t help myself! This is one of my favorite stories I’ve ever dreamed up, and I hope it’ll be one of your favorites too.

This one is definitely going to get written before The Cradle. It’s itching and burning to burst from my fingertips. (Who knows? Maybe I’ll get hit with an Elisabeth-Wheatley-esque all consuming writing frenzy and knock out a 260k book in a day! Haha!)

Things are moving ahead at a scarily fast pace, and I can’t wait to bring y’all the finished products!

What have you been working on/reading lately? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Writing Update: October 2014

  1. I’m really excited for THE FINAL ADVENT and THE IMMORTAL is just awesome-sounding by it’s nature! Good luck with THE STOLEN SUN, that one was very original and I really liked the fresh take on a different mythology. :)

    • Thanks! :D I’m glad to hear you’re looking forward to them. And I appreciate your kindness! ^w^
      By the way, I still need to send you Where Gold is Born! Check your inbox. I’ll send it your way right now. :)

Leave a Reply

