Book Review: Eleanor & Park

15745753Title: Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Release Date: February 26th, 2013

Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary: ” “Bono met his wife in high school,” Park says.
“So did Jerry Lee Lewis,” Eleanor answers.
“I’m not kidding,” he says.
“You should be,” she says, “we’re sixteen.”
“What about Romeo and Juliet?”
“Shallow, confused, then dead.”
”I love you,” Park says.
“Wherefore art thou,” Eleanor answers.
“I’m not kidding,” he says.
“You should be.”
Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.” – Goodreads

Read this book. Do it. Immediately. Immediately.

Eleanor and Park is adorable. Absolutely cute and warm-fuzzies inducing. And thankfully, it doesn’t have an ounce of insta-love. The romance is just as realistic, fleshed out and deep as the characters are.

The writing is chocked full of emotion, which can be difficult to execute. Here, it comes off flawlessly. The quality of the writing itself is fantastic as well. The story is a bit sleepy, though not in the dull sense. More in that it isn’t exciting by traditional definitions, (so if when you read, you’re constantly thinking, “YEAH LET’S GO SLAY DRAGONS AND SAVE THE PRESIDENT AND JOIN A CONSPIRACY PLOT YEEAAAHHHH” like a pumped up frat boy, this ain’t your book.) It’s more of an emotional ride than a plot-packed one.

Another great characteristic of this book is how realistically it depicts high school kids’ behavior. As soon as I saw the f-bomb being dropped constantly on the bus scenes, I smiled. Not because profanity gets me giggly, but because back when I rode the bus I would hear the word at least ten times on a single morning commute. It showed me this author wasn’t going to treat kids like delicate dolls in need of sheltering. It was real.

My one tiny nit-pick is that I wish there had been a more solid conclusion. Still, I understand why it ended the way it did.

For its great vibe, layered characters, and rich emotion, Eleanor & Park earns a 5 out of 5.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Eleanor & Park

  1. I’ve seen a few reviews of this book and yours has just instilled in me my need to read it. Although I never had the opportunity to experience young love, I can imagine how it must feel like to be these characters. Thanks for reminding me to put it on my never-ending to-read list! :)

Leave a Reply

